Looking for Dongdaemun

I’m a bit of a chatterbox. Seriously, I talk. a. lot. So when my friend and I decided to go to Dongdaemun Fabric Market, we hopped on the subway, and started talking. and talking. and talking.  We were so busy talking we actually missed our subway stop.  So we got on the subway again, started talking again, and missed our stop for a second time.  At this point we gave up. (포기, pogi, give up) We got off the subway at Dongmyo, the station before Dongdaemun, and figured we’d walk the distance.  Generally, the  stations are pretty close together in Seoul, so I wasn’t concerned about the walk being too long.  In our lost and confused (and talkative) state, we lucked out and found toy alley and pet alley!! (대박, big win, lucky day!)

Toy Alley: A literal alley filled with toy stores! The perfect place to Christmas shop!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

There was even a few Halloween stores! (Halloween isn’t celebrated in Korea.)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

A giant Lego store! So cool!SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Pet Alley: Another alley, this one filled with pets of all kinds!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

흥인지문 (Heunginjimun): It was the major eastern gate in the wall that surrounded Seoul during the Joseon Dynasty.
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

And finally, we made it to the fabric market! It’s very busy inside so I didn’t get any pictures.  I’m not sure I can convey how truly large and busy the market is! It’s amazing and I love it!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

We finished the day off with some post-shopping coffee!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Leave a comment